We’ve just posted some great video footage of the band in Dublin, filmed back in July 2007 by Vincent Moon and Jeremiah of ninetynights, Six Days, and takeawayshows fame. The brief film, a montage of “Pretty Persuasion,” “Harborcoat,” and “Second Guessing,” dovetails really nicely with this week’s release of Reckoning Songs From The Olympia, the four-song digital E.P. (available at iTunes–click on banner on left on main news page) which includes the three previously mentioned songs and “Letter Never Sent.” Be sure to stop by remdublin.com which has been revived to coincide with all of the recent Dublin activity (and stay tuned for more news on R.E.M. Live At The Olympia due out this October).

An all-star cast, including Michael Stipe, has contributed songs to Ciao My Shining Star: The Songs of Mark Mulcahy, a compilation of the Miracle Legion front man’s songs which serves simultaneously as a tribute to the songwriter (whose wife Melissa passed away recently, leaving him with three-year old twins) and a benefit. Ciao My Shining Star – The Songs of Mark Mulcahy, will be released on September 7th in the UK and September 29th in the USA.

01. Thom Yorke – “All for the Best”

02. The National – “Ashamed of the Story I Told”

03. Michael Stipe – “Everything’s Coming Undone”

04. David Berkeley – “Love’s the Only Thing That Shuts Me Up”

05. Dinosaur Jr. – “The Backyard”

06. Chris Harford and Mr. Ray Neal – “Micon the Icon”

07. Frank Black – “Bill Jocko”

08. Vic Chesnutt – “Little Man”

09. Unbelievable Truth – “Ciao My Shining Star”

10. Butterflies of Love – “I Have Patience”

11. Chris Collingwood of Fountains of Wayne – “Cookie Jar”

12. Frank Turner – “The Quiet One”

13. Rocket From the Tombs – “In Pursuit of Your Happiness”

14. Ben Kweller – “Wake Up Whispering”

15. Josh Rouse – “I Woke Up in the Mayflower”

16. Autumn Defense – “Paradise”

17. Hayden – “Happy Birthday Yesterday”

18. Juliana Hatfield – “We’re Not in Charleston Anymore”

19. Mercury Rev – “Sailors and Animals”

20. Elvis Perkins – “She Watches Over Me”

21. Sean Watkins – “A World Away From This One”

R.E.M. side-musician, multi-instrumentalist, and all-around damn good guy, Scott McCaughey, is featured in an extensive article at Oregonlive.com where he discusses “Killingsworth,” the eighth full-length record from the Minus 5.

And finally, this in on long-time R.E.M. bass-tech extraordinaire, Bob Weber, who is currently out on the road with Counting Crows…